how to clean shells and driftwood?

mdrew

Small Fish
Dec 22, 2010
how to clean shells and driftwood?

I am in Vancover visiting family and found a beautiful peice of driftwood down at the beach in addition to a bunch of beautiful shells that I would love to put in my aquarium. They are from saltwater and my aquarium is freshwater. What can i do to make these shells compatible? fish are angels and gbr. It has been suggested to me that I boil the shells and bake the driftwood in my oven, will that work?

Thank you

mdrew

Small Fish
Dec 22, 2010
Thank you all so much for your help!

I will treat the the driftwood and use that but -km still unsure of the shells, its a shame since they'd be such a beautiful addition I wonder if frequent cleaning and balancing would help but I'm a newb so one thing at a time.

I'm thinking I'll do the boiling water in the bathtub or sink, let sit over night and then bake it in the oven at 500f to kill the bacteria, then do another couple rounds of boiling water to
Make sure all of the salt is gone.

I wonder if boiling the shells in water and a ph balancing solution would do some good?

What do you think?

Thank you! :)

aakaakaak

Superstar Fish
Sep 9, 2010
Chesapeake, Virginia
They sell crushed coral and/or shells as substrate for people who need to boost their PH. It also boosts your calcium levels, so if you have snails it helps them.

Saltwater driftwood can be tricky from what I've heard. The salt can leech into the wood and stay there for the long haul. I would suggest really boiling it good and long if you intend it for freshwater.

nanu156

Large Fish
Mar 8, 2010
Detroit, Mi