Need advice on stocking a 20 gallon tank

fishy_foo

Small Fish
May 2, 2011
Hi,
I recently got a 20 gallon fish-tank and I'm in the process of stocking it with fish (after the nitrogen cycle seems to be stable).
I've got 3 zebra danios already. I'd like to put in 6 glo-fish (3 at a time) and then, once they stabilize, a couple of dwarf gourami (one at a time).

Is this a viable set of fish? Specifically, I've read that there should be a minimum of 6 zebra danios. But since the glofish are just altered zebra danios, I was thinking 3 zebras + 6 glofish should be fine.

I'm a complete newbie, so any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Ami

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
Hi, welcome to the forum! Your mix of danios and glowfish will be just fine. However, I wouldn't suggest two dwarf gouramis together. Most of the ones sold at fish stores are male ('cause the males are the pretty ones) and while they are fairly peaceful with other fish, they are known to be aggressive to their own kind. So do one dwarf gourami only.
What else are you thinking of adding eventually?
Cheers,
Laura

fishy_foo

Small Fish
May 2, 2011
Hi Laura,
Thanks for the welcome :)
As far as the dwarf gouramis go, we're planning to put in a male AND female gourami. Do you know if the males are aggresive toward females (like in bettas?)
Once there's enough alga, I'd like to put in 3 otocinclus-es. Not sure if I should get 1 by 1 or all three together. But I reckon that's at least a month out.
Got a question on feeding danios. I got a 20 gallon aquarium kit from Aqueon. It came with tropical flkes. Will it be enough, or shoud I also buy some frozen worms / brine shrimp? I kinda think I need some for the dwarf gouramis anyway.
Take care,
Ami

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
It is my understanding that female dwarf gouramis are almost impossible to find. No one seems to stock them because they aren't as pretty. I was never able to find a female.

Thyra