Hi I'm a noob and I have a fluval edge 6 gal

Delaforce

Small Fish
Jul 17, 2011
Hi , hope I have found the right place :) first of all I was slightly miffed on the random question asked about 'how many tires does a car have' and I said 5 don't you ppl Cary spares!!! Oh dear anyways about this tank that's staring at me in the face dry, empty, and full of birthday joy , the problem is I know very little about what I'm doing . I want a saltwater but after reading I need to change everything , seems daunting as my worst fear is something dying . So what's the best ? I hope this isn't too repetitive for the almighty knowledgable fish freaks, but a little help would go a long way

achase

Large Fish
Feb 1, 2010
British Columbia, Canada
Well a car only has four wheels but you can carry any amount of tires (if you wanted to).
If it's a 6 gal and your a newbie to fishkeeping, I wouldn't do a saltwater tank. Saltwater for the first time is better with large tanks (50+ gals). When things go bad in tanks they go really bad, really fast in small tanks.

My suggestion for a 6 gallon tank is (1) Get a single betta, (2) Do a ADF/African Dwarf Frog tank or (3) Do a shrimp tank. Unfortunately, you don't have much selection with a 6 gallon tank as it is quite small. My personal choice would be the betta.....they are wonderful fish!

Delaforce

Small Fish
Jul 17, 2011
Ah ok great :) so can I fill it with driftwood or other cool stuff ? So i dont just see one little fella swimming around?! I have plastic plants but I want something more unusual for the centre piece , if I find something at the beach and clean it would that be ok? Thankyou :) !!

Sean

New Fish
Jul 17, 2011
From personal experience, a fluval edge isn't a bad tank, but it's tiny filter and lighting isn't much for saltwater.. I might suggest using it for small freshwater wish and moving up to salt as you gain confidence/feel ready. Best of luck :)

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA