I'm Poor and I Want Fish

Aug 3, 2011
So like the title says, I am a broke college student, but I really want to have a fish. I live in a small apartment and do not have all that much space. One of my friends convinced me to buy a betta from petco rather impulsively and I didn't have all the materials I needed right away, and he was unfortunately short lived. After he died, everything in the tank was slimy. I'd like to try again with something next week, but I really have no idea where to start. Some advice would be helpful. I did read the articles in the sticky, but I'm still a little confused.

I have:
-A hexagonal tank with a side length of 10.5cm (4.1in) and a height of 25.5cm (10in), which according to this comes out to about 7.3L (roughly 2g)
-Aquarium rocks
-A fake plant
-Bulbs for live plants that just sprouted
-An inexpensive heater designed to heat to ~78∘F
-Plenty of rocks and driftwood from a nearby river that have been washed
-Dechlorinator

I know that my water has a pH between 7.2 and 7.6, but I don't know anything else. I plan to buy test strips in the morning.

So my major question is, what kind of fish would be easy to care for and be able to live in those conditions? The only thing is that I do not have that much money to spend.

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
Many people do keep a betta alive in a 2g tank, but you will need to change at least 50% of the water about twice a week. I had one like that for about 2 years in a smaller container until I learned differently. I didn't know about cycling the water at the time and I changed all the water at least once a week. I later updated to a larger tank, but I don't think he was any happier because he completely stopped building bubble nests.

Jul 18, 2011
underwater