Depressed tank

Sep 26, 2011
Hi folks. I'm new to fish keeping, and your forum, so please forgive any newbie transgressions I may perform.

In our tank we started with:
2 moon tetras
1 glass catfish

After a while, the tetras spawned and we got 2 more tetras. (I think there's another couple babies in there just today.)

Then yesterday we picked up a Bronze cory to help "vacuum" up.

But here's the thing: Even after weeks, the old tetras are very skittish and stay hidden in the castle (where apparently they keep busy) and the glass catfish NEVER comes out. He has to at some point, but I NEVER see him.

The 2 newer tetras (born in the tank) have no problem swimming about.

Now the Bronze cory is also just hanging out in a corner and not really doing anything...but he's new, could be getting adjusted.

I'm attending to the water. fed twice a day, but I wonder....the tank is pretty bright. Florecent light on top, red substrate, orange and green plants...too bright? Would these guys be affected by the amount of light? all the databases I see say they should all get along, and that the temp is right..but none say anything about light levels?

Or - am I barking up the wrong tree.

Tooj

Medium Fish
Apr 9, 2011
Vancouver, B.C.
Hi there

first off, is your tank cycled? that could be a reason why your fish arent looking all that great (but im assuming your tank is cycled because youve had it for weeks now)
2ndly, i couldnt find anything on your tetras, but i beleive (could be totaly wrong) that most tetras are schooling fish. and i know for a fact that glass catfish are, which means that they feel at risk when not kept in groups with their own kind. that could also be a reason.