New Tank- Platies Hiding

Oct 9, 2011
HI- I am completely new to aquariums, fishtanks....and would appreciate help :)
I bought a fluval chi 5 gallon tank. As per the aquarium shop's instructions i had the aquarium run with the filter and lights, and conditioner for a week and added the fish today. They sold me one betta, three white cloud mountain minnows and three (red-tail) platies. The white cloud and betta seem to be doing fine but the platies are quite listless and are staying at the bottom of the tank! Not sure if its normal for a new tank- or something wrong. I attached a pic- ( i tried attaching a video but it didnt work) of them. IMAG0104.jpg

thanks so much!

Nov 5, 2009
CT
have you tested the water parameters? it's quite possible the tank is still cycling and that could be why your fish are acting a bit off. it's also possible that the platies are hiding from the beta. as they become more comfortable in their new surroundings they should start moving around more. definitely test your water ASAP though

Oct 9, 2011
Thanks- Excuse my ignorance- testing for what exactly- I went to this fish shop which is supposed to be great at teaching newbies- I asked if I need some type of testing kit- they said I dont. So what do i need to get to test it?

Nov 5, 2009
CT