10 gallon tank

Tooj

Medium Fish
Apr 9, 2011
Vancouver, B.C.
Hi there. i recently aquired a 10 gallon tank for my desktop. i have black sand substrate at the moment with no decorations (work in progress - once i figure out what im putting in there)
i am interested in setting up a cichlid tank, although from what im reading a 10 gallon tank is somewhat small
Some people are suggesting that some dwarf cichlids (not too many...) will work in that size of a tank
im a real newbie when it comes to cichlids, and im not sure what type to get? its alot more complicated then i thought it would be.
my understanding is not to mix cichlids from different regions....and thats about all my brain can take it
theres TONS of biological names that i cant seem to sort out in my head....not as simple as calling one species "guppies" lol
so anyways...can anyone set me on the right track? i want colourful ones that can survive in a pH neutral tank and are actively working the sand that i already have set up
any suggestions? preferably small....like under 4 inches...leaning more towards 3 inches so i can fit at leats 2 or 3 in there
thanks for your suggestions

Kiara1125

Superstar Fish
Jan 12, 2011
Florida

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
You might be able to put about four of the high fin red tetra minors in your tank (Serpaes) They are colorful and active and I have found them very hardy.

Tooj

Medium Fish
Apr 9, 2011
Vancouver, B.C.
i have a 29 gallon tropical community tank full of all sorts of stuff at the moment
it does seem like anything around 4 inches isnt going to work
however, i did drop by my LFS and saw dwarf white parrot cichlids
aparently theyre new or something? SOOOOO CUTE btw <-ive only said that with 2 things. pygmy corries and these new dwarf parrot cichlids
max size is 1.5 for males and 2.5 for females
some shell dwelling cichlids would be nice too...but from what ive seen, theyre very hard to get where im from (vancouver)