12 gallon nanocube

MOsborne05

Superstar Fish
Oct 3, 2005
Gibsonburg, OH
I've been thinking about getting a 12 gallon nanocube to set up as a small reef tank. Is this a good tank to get or should I get something else? Would I need a sump or skimmer on a tank this small? I plan on getting the deluxe hood which comes with (2) 24 watt 50/50 cf bulbs, would this be enough to keep a crocea clam, tube anenome and maybe a coral or two?

Also, would this tank be big enough to keep a clownfish, firefish and critters? I like oscellaris clowns, purple firefish, neon blue gobies, midas blennies, royal gramma basslet, orange sea star and/or blood red fire shrimp. I know that I can't get them all but I'd like to hear some suggestions on what everyone likes and has had good luck with since I'm a newbie to saltwater.

And I've heard people talk about cleanup crews, what exactly does that consist of? Snails & Crabs?????

I plan on getting the live rock from www.liveaquaria.com, the 16 pound nano reef pack, and probably tidal marine sand. Sound good?

Limi310

Superstar Fish
Nov 30, 2005
Charlotte, NC
Hi MOsborne....I am just starting a 10gal nano...something that I found extremely helpful was on www.nano-reef.com and it was written by Stealhealr. Check that out - it answered TONS of my questions. It deals with the 24gal nanocube, but all the information pertains to nanos in general.
Actually here is the link to take you right to it: http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=54602&hl=stealhealr

Good Luck (it's loads of fun). I know all the people here can give you great advice as well.......just wanted to share that link.

Limi310

Superstar Fish
Nov 30, 2005
Charlotte, NC