30 gallon freshwater planted tank

Feb 16, 2015
hello everyone,

i am new to this hobby and am enjoying it a lot.. i have recently bought a 30 gallon tank online and am cycling it with fish flakes. its taking sometime but ill do it patiently. i have planted it with amazon swords, hairgrass and vallisnerias with white sand as the substrate..

please help me with some stocking ideas. i plan to add the following (slowly of course)
8 neon tetras
8 zebra danios
8 runnynose or penguin or buones aires tetras (depending on which are available)
3 albino cory cats

is this stocking okay? shud i make any changes? and how do i go about adding them? meaning a pair of fishes at a time, but shud i complete one school and then start adding the other type of fish? or add 2 fish of one type and then 2 of another and so on? also wud 3 albino rainbow sharks be ok for bottom feeders if i dont get the corys? and can i get a betta too? *BOUNCINGS

sorry for so many questions, but im confused :confused:

thanks,

sidhesh

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
You could do one rainbow shark for the bottom instead of the corys. They are probably too territorial to have more than one in a 30g. If you get the Corys instead, get more like 6 of them. Even 8. They're the only bottom feeders.

I would say to add half a school at a time. Finish one school before starting another - schooling fish will be more comfortable with more of their kin. You may want to consider sticking with only two schools (plus the bottom dwellers) and making them a little larger. Makes a more cohesive looking tank.

A betta - depends on their personality. Some don't tolerate tankmates, others are fine, others are choosy (ie, okay with some fish but dislike fish with bright colors or long fins). I'd be concerned about the danios or the larger tetras potentially nipping a more finny type of betta. One without flowing fins, or a female, or a dwarf gouramis, would fare better in that regard.