55 gal considerations...

AF888

New Fish
Jun 23, 2008
Rhode Island
I'm a newbie, been lurking for a bit and fiddling with a 5 gal hex tank that is the result of my daughter's science teacher's overly hopeful idea about the kids making no maintenance terrarium/aquariums. It's got a couple of plants - anacharis and a crypt, and 2 zebra danios and a guppy fry. It's cycling, but I think that addition of the plants from a LFS is making it pretty easy on me (and the fish.)

As seems to be the case, my husband mentioned the tank to someone and they gave him a 55 gal tank free. It came with a light which won't cut it for live plants, and no other equipment. Since the 5 gal desktop is a hit, I am considering the bigger tank for sometime in the future, and I had a few questions. Here they are:

1. Tank size (48x12 rectangular) is a consideration in location. It will be heated, but is an outside wall a bad idea in New England?

2. I've seen lots of recommendations for multiple filters, (making me realize the number of electrical outlets is also an issue in placement) and I'm not clear on exactly how you figure out how big etc. I'd like to plant the tank reasonably well, i.e. Amazon jungle, and have a couple of showy angelfish in with smaller community fish. Can someone give me tips?

I'm enjoying the collective wisdom here! Thanks!!
AF

nrstype

Medium Fish
May 5, 2008
I have my largest 90g on an "outside" wall, and all is well. Grant it, it is a standard house wall. As long as you have an adequate heater for the 55g, with temperature regulator on it, your good to go.

Before setting up your tank, take into consideration the outlet situation. I like to have a GFCI on EVERY tank I have in my house. Here is a pic..

If there is a surge in electricity etc, all power is cut. It may save you from electric shock. Invaluable!!!!

Filtration: Combination is great.

* IF you have a 55g tank, get a filter that is OVER the 55g rating. (For example, get one rated for a 75g or Larger.)