A few questions

HeathDus9

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2009
We just bought a 20gallon tank, I was wondering which fish would be the best "starter fish" for cycling. We were thinking about Cichlids, and I was wondering if Cichlids would be good for cycling the tank? Also how many should we get for that at once, and Ive heard that Cichlids are semi aggressive and that you can only put other cichlids in with them, or does anyone know of any other fish they are good with? I am a beginner so I would appreciate any information! Thank you!!

Feb 27, 2009
Use 'Prime' as your dechlorinator and you will detoxify the ammonia so its not harmful to the fish if you do a fish-in cycle. It won't interfer with your nitrogen cycle.

HeathDus9

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2009
lol, I didnt listen, I started with two African cichlids, we just couldnt resist! They seem to be doing great, It has been about 14 hours now, We added a conditioner and some aquarium salt to the tank, they seem to be fine, but out of curiosity, anyone know the normal time frame that a fish would die from ammonia poisioning?? hopefully that dont happen, but im curious!

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ

Please get a water test kit asap. you can use it to keep track of the cycling process. also you can use it to see if ammonia or nitrites would be present, as those are the most harmful chemicals during cycling.

Your fish may be doing fine after 14 hours, but they still have about a month+ of cycling to get through =/

If you see an ammonia presence, use something like ammo lock. it detoxifies ammonia BUT does NOT eliminate it so that your bio filter development isnt slowed down.

HeathDus9

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2009