Advice needed about recycling a tank and aggressive fish

Jul 20, 2009
Hi there, I'm new to these parts and fairly new to fishkeeping in general, and am in need of a little advice. I shall start at the beginning here.

I have had a small tank (around 60 litres I think thats about 18 gallons) for a few months, in which I currently have one female Bolivian Ram, a male Black Sailfin Molly, 2 Neon Tetra, an African Dwarf Frog and a male Cobalt Blue Dwarf Gourami. Things haven't gone as swimmingly as I would have liked, I lost the female Gourami and a shrimp before recently moving, in the process of moving annoyingly the bacteria on the filter died and I am struggling somewhat to recycle the tank with it's current inhabitants but am doing everything in my power to restablise the tank whilst keeping its inhabitants happy and healthy, although the Chinese Algae Eater I had didn't make it. Though I can't say I'm too annoyed by that since he was a real terror and has attacked all my fish, my Gourami still bears the scars of battle.

So that concludes the beginning and I'm wondering if anyone has any tips regarding recycling tanks. I'm doing the basics of less feeding, regular water changes and removing uneaten food. But is there anything else I can do?

Right after that here comes the next thing. For my birthday I am getting a pretty big 350 Litre (77 gallons) tank, but its second hand and already has fish in it and I'm somewhat worried about as they are mostly fairly agressive.

Here's the list:

A pair of Orange Marble Blushing Angels
An Electric Blue Mbuna
Another Mbuna but I don't know it's name, it's brown and creamy yellow
A Juliodechromis
A couple of Brichardi
A Yellow Severum
5 Congo Tetra
An Adonis Pleco (A foot long, will it grow much more?)
3 Clown Loach