Advice

Feb 13, 2012
Ok, I just want to say hi because I am new here.

I need some advice. (I am a newbie so dont laugh)

I have a 10 gallon tank with fish listed in my signature. I dont have water perimaters. Two weeks ago I purchased Clarise from Walmart thought she was a male (lol) well I quickly found out that she was a female because my male molly wont stop "chasing" her and I found a present 2 days ago in my tank (7 babies, 3 lived) Now, I know that I must get a bigger tank soon because Mollies are notorious breeders. Now I had a friend that had a female Larytail molly that he was going to flush because he didnt want her so I took her. Now this females bigger than the male. Will he still breed with her or will she hurt him?

How long before I expect another batch so I can prepare?

How can I distract my male from chasing the smaller female

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
Hi, welcome to the forum!
First, you are right that you should get a bigger tank. Second, you should find out what your water parameters are - the best way to do this is buy yourself a liquid test kit so you can check it yourself. This is a very important part of fishkeeping, and will enable you to prevent fish deaths. Third, many females are actually larger than their male counterparts, and no she won't hurt him and yes, they will still breed ;) Fourth, the best way to distract your male is to add another female (when you have a bigger tank) so his attentions are spread out, and to add some hiding places like plants or other decor so the females can have a rest. Fifth, it's hard to say when more fry will be born, as livebearers can have several batches of fry within a short period of time - you are right to prepare for more! Finally, post pics of your 'unknown fish' if you would like us to advise whether they are suitable for your tank.
Cheers,
Laura

Nov 5, 2009
CT