Aggressive tetra

Adri

New Fish
Apr 29, 2006
Hello everyone~ I have a problem I have never heard about and I am hoping one of you can help. I have a 37 gallon tank with a mainly tetra community. I have glow lights, neons, black skirts, golden skirts, a couple of black phantoms, a serptae, some lamp eyes and a couple of diamonds. The exception is 3 powder blue Gouramies(well 2 now). My problem is that my 2 female lamp eye tetras seem to have become aggresive. They are nipping everyones fins or at least those they can get to. They killed one of my gourami from all the fin nipping. I checked the "chemical" levels in my tank and everything seems to be right where it should be. Frankly I just dont get it!! Has anyone heard of this or does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue might be. The tank has several plants, so I don't believe habitat is an issue. I'm not an expert though. Thanks in advance for any help and sorry if I didn't post right. First time on a forum.

Jan 13, 2006
Colorado
how many of the lampeyes do you have? just the 2 females? you may need to get more to tone them down a bit, tetras can get really nippy if not in a large enough school. are you sure it was the tetras that killed your gourami and not one of the other gouramis? they are usually best kept alone because of territory issuses, so your prblem may have been sothing more than you thought it was.. could you please tell us how many of each kind of fish that you have? that may help.

Adri

New Fish
Apr 29, 2006