An odd Cichlid question

Rayneuki

Large Fish
May 29, 2008
Memphis, TN
Hey guys, as you can obviously notice... I'm new =D
I've had fish most of my life... They're fun, beutiful, and such... But just recently I've found out about cycling and such... (Just cause I had fish doesn't mean I was an expert...)

So, I'm planning on buying a fish tank... I have the room for a 10 - 20 gal tank... I've looked around and I've become intrested in a couple of different tank designs...

First: The biOrb and biUbe are pretty neat... I think they look good, does anyone have one? Or has anyone had one in the past? How is their filter/pump system? Does the heater attatchment look good or tacky? Also, which are better? The ube or the orb?!

Second: I'm intrested in Cichlids... I know the biggest biOrb is 16 gal, I think they MIGHT have a bigger one in the biUbe... But my question on that is... What S. American (or african) Dwarf Cichlids are the best for a 'newer' hobbiest? I do have a few experienced friends, ones whom can help me if I need any... And now I've got you guys =P

Would two blue rams do well in a 16 gal? I would really like to get two Kribs... They're beutiful fish... If I have a 16 gal and possibly one or two Kribs, which upper dwelling fish should I get? If any?

I also plan to try my hand at fishless cycling (I'm going to my LFS on the weekend... There's three around here that I'm intrested in looking at.)

Thanks for the info!

EDIT:
Also... Are those alge cleaner magnents worth it? They do kinna look odd, and LOOK like they could work... but is it worth it? Or should I just transfer my little sucker-fish-like-thing... Little black and brown stripped guy.

Last edited:
Jul 9, 2003
Columbia, SC
www.youtube.com