Another new person to the Salt Water World . . .

NEW2SW

Small Fish
Jun 25, 2006
Hello all just bought me a NANO CUBE 24 Gallon tank, so far so good, just finished cycling this Sunday. OK so I am new to all of this. I have 15lbs of Live rock, 2 bags of the wet sand, 3 turbo snails and 3 hermet crabs. And just purchased 2 Blue Damsels and 1 Chromnium fish (think thats how you spell it) So I guess im done buying fish, JK. I need a few tips... Do I buy my SW from the original store that sold me the tank?? Or is it ok to purchase SW from other local fish stores in my area? And one more ? When I do bring home the fish, what is the proper way to get them in the tank? All tips are greatly appreciated!!! Thanks

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site
Chromnium = chromis ?
hmmm...you can make your own SW ...assuming SW means only salt water.
Buying from stores = very little salinity, 'cause many LFS are cheap and you're almost assured to infect you fishies.
I think you could buy "the new marine aquarium" by Michael S. Paletta.
What is the water in your tank ??? I mean you got it from where. Really hope it's salted or byebye your Live Rock and inverts.
Mixing salt is one of the first thing you have to do when you start your marine aquarium.
When i add a fish in my tank, i let the bag sit opened on the water, and the bag is attached to the border of my tank or sump. Every 15 mn, i pour a little bit of my tank's water into the bag ( with a turkey baster)...and like in 2 hours, the fishies has acclimated, and i put it in the tank ( never put the water from the bag in your tank, you'll risk to propagate parasites ).

aresgod

Superstar Fish
Jan 14, 2004
mass
Visit site