Another newbie

Dec 9, 2007
I am new to saltwater and I have never posted a question on a web site like this so please bear with me. I started my first saltwater tank in May - 30 gal. eclipse tank - live sand (2 inch sand bed) cycled tank then added a cow fish and goby, all was well. Then I went wild. Added way to many fish ie: dwarf angle, scooter blenny, hawk fish, 5 small chromies, and a couple of other fish I cant remember what they were and some live rock, and of course every thing died of ick except my cow fish and scooter blenny. Decided to go slow. I through everything out. Bleached tank and filter Started over - put cow fish and scooter in quarantine tank and medicated them, added 405 fluvial filter, UV sterilizer - live sand 2 inches, cycled and every is thing fine now. I purchased a chocolate chip starfish (in qtank now) and want to add a dwarf flame angel fish later. My question is the water is perfect (as far as the tests show) but I have green spots in the sand. I don’t think the spots are algae, they are totally round and almost fluorescent green. The spots are seen through the glass, not on top of the sand. I have no idea what this is, would appreciate any advise any one can offer. I know that the cow fish will grow out of this 30 gal tank and am planning a larger one if I can learn how to handle the 30 gallon one first. I would like to add some live rock, but I think this is where my problems started before, I didn’t have the ick until I added the rock. But then since I didn’t quarantine any of the fish there is no telling. And also in the rock was some really disgusting little crawly things that looked like centipedes. Am I supposed to quarantine the live rock? I would also like to purchase some live saltwater plants - do they need to be quarantined also? Thank you

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Welcome to the site :)