Barbs & Danios

IDunnoWhy

Superstar Fish
Nov 16, 2006
Deerfield, WI
Hi, I'm a real newbie here, so please be kind. I purchased a small aquarium 10g. And now I want to stock it with some small fish. I have cycled it based on information I aquired in a book I purchased at the same time as the tank. I've got the water temp controlled at around 75-77 degrees (I can adjust this), I have a filter (charcoal variety) a under gravel air stone 3" dia. w/pump and a lighting/hood, as well as a few artificial plants and 1 small hiding "Cave". Now the question....I really like Tiger Barbs (Small ones) and any of the Danios, especially the zebra's. How many can SAFELY go in the tank, and should those breeds be in the same tank in the first place? Do I need some sort of algae eater in a tank this small? I read all the time about "newbies" putting the wrong fish together or too many fish together in small tanks, I don't want to make the same mistakes (I'm sure I'll find all kinds of new mistakes to make as I learn). I do intend to upgrade to a larger tank at some point (assuming I don't kill everything I touch), but that will be in the future. In the meantime I want to get all I can out of my "mini" tank setup. Thanks in advance for any help :eek:

Oct 18, 2006
Oceanside California