Been keeping tank at 85-90.

Jan 9, 2005
Visit site
So it turns out that i'm better suited for something like the special olympics rather than reef-keeping. My thermometer is ridiculously designed, and so what looks like 70, is actually 80. Therefor, i've been keeping my tank at somewhere around 85-90 for the last 5+ months. I haven't lost any fish, but corals are a different story.

First my hydrometer is off three points, and now my thermometer (plus my ignorance) has caused ridiculous problems...anyone want a 20 gallon reef...free? before i kill everything?

And to think i work at a fish store, as the "marine guy".

OCCFan023

Superstar Fish
Jul 29, 2004
New Jersey
well you could just get a new thermometer and then try again ;). As for the hydrometer you could always get a refractrometer at drfostersmith's sale. Everyone makes mistakes, part of the learning process.

But if you really reallllly want to give it away, Ill be glad to take it ahah :)

Jan 9, 2005
Visit site
Oh i would never actually quit that easy. I've put too much money into corals that just die immediately to quit over a broken thermometer, but i do feel stupid.

Man, i cant believe clowns can adjust to this temperature. I 've thought in my last 6 or so months "man, clowns really are begginer fish...they've survived everything"...But 90 degrees! Not to mention the random polyps and mushrooms, although it hurts to think of everything i could have had but boiled.

continue to poke and laugh.

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Some of the thermometers are pretty hard to read. I know some of the cheapie ones we have are almost impossible to get a good reading from, except to see if it's in the "green zone." The digital thermometers are nice, and not much chance of reading them wrong. :)

At least now you know why your corals weren't doing so well. Experience is a great teacher :D

Jan 9, 2005
Visit site