Beginner - In Need Of Help.

Hey there! I'm a complete newbie to the whole fish-pet thing, by the way! I have brought my tank and it's going well - but i have been told (by the manual) to wait two weeks before getting the fish, and that's fine!
My real... "question" is about lights.
My tank is a freshwater tank, and i've heard that lights can really brighten up the tank, what lights do you get though? My tank is a fairly small one about 8gallons i'd say, as i'm just starting and don't have any room for a big one (plus my parents would kill me if i got a big one!), but could i buy an ordinary lamp and stretch it over the top of the tank so the light shines down (you know - one of those desklamps) or should i not bother at all? I need help.

Thanks,
Chazwick x

Last edited:
if your doing plants the lamp is fine just try to get some compact flourescent light bulbs (the spirally ones) cause most of the other typse of lights don't grow plants that good but it is possible. oh and if you want the tint of the light to be realy white look for the Kelvin rating and get one that is from 5500k to 6500k or if you want yellow go for something around the 2000k to 3000k and if you want blue look for something around 9000k but i personally like growing plants in 6500k casue that is the color temp of the sun.