Beginner Saltwater Tank

Brian

New Fish
Oct 23, 2002
California
Visit site
I am a total newbie to saltwater and was wondering what "setup" would be good. I am 14 so i have a very limited budget but want a saltwater tank. What size tank? Good beginner fish( i like blue damsels,alse percula clowns, yellow tangs)? Filter?Skimmer? and anything else i should know!!!!

aquatek

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Get a 30 gallon glass tank. An emperor 280 power filter. 1 daytime bulb, 1 blue kind, with 2 sets of fixature and ballast and hood for your light. A hydrometer, A Ebo-Jager heater 75 watts, a box of activated charcoal, a box of Bio Chem Stars, a net, and a bag of salt. If you want to start your tank with tap water then get Kordon's amquel and detoxer, but its better to use distilled/deioned drinking water from the beginning. If the Ph is too low then get a pack of Ph booster thingey. Cut the Bio chem stars in half, like a bagel, so they can fit into emperor 280's media basket, or get small bio media. Whole set up above will cost about $250, depending where you shop at. AFTER the nitrate cycle is completed and de-nitrating bio bacteria has grown on the bio media, you might want to add some high quality cured lived rock.

30 gallon glass tank - $30
Emperor 280 filter - $40
Daytime flourescent bulb - $20
Blue coral bulb - $15
Fixature, ballast, hood - $40
Hydrometer - $10
Ebo Jager heater - $25
Sea salt - $20
Bio media - $10
Charcoal, net - $10
Extras - $10
Tank Stand - $40 or build one!

wayne

Elite Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Why not get the live rock in straight away, and replace the power filter with a skimmer (probably hang on back), and another power head for some circulation.
30 gallons is a good starter size though - smaller is posssible, but you'l have no margin of error.
Home much stuff does your lfs have? Mine are all frankly terrible - fish and live rock are ok, but in terms of hardware, horrible.