Beginniner Question - Feeding.

Heya! I'm totally new to all of this. I don't have my fish yet as i have to wait for two weeks because of the "cycle" as i think some people have been calling it! But i was wondering how often do you have to feed fish, and when exactly do YOU do it? The morning? Night? I need help! I have some fish flakes at the ready for the arrivals that will be here in a fornight, so i'd like to be 100% prepared! I don't want to screw up - by over feeding them... or under-feeding them! Please help.

Ps: And how much flakes do you put in?

Last edited:

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Just leaving your tank up for two weeks will not "cycle" the tank. Unless you're following a lot of the tips in the threads we showed you about cycling and how to set up a new tank you'll go through the cycle when you get your fish.

At any rate. I would feed your fish very lightly. You want to feed them once a day or once every other day, as much as they will eat in about 5 minutes. Unless you have a good presence of bottom feeders you want to make sure not much falls to the bottom of the tank...as overfeeding can cause major problems...especially in a tank that is cycling. Depending on the fish you need to change up their foods...feed veggies or frozen bloodworms or brine shrimp to mix their diet up. If you are getting goldfish they have a completely different diet you should follow. This is where research on your fish comes in handy.

I know "leaving my tank for two weeks" will not cycle it. I talked to some of the people at the LFS and they recommended this great conditioner i've left in the water... Quite pricey, but worth it.

Ps: I'm not sure exactly what fishes i'm getting, i might start with some nice types of goldfish, all i know for sure is i'm getting a Black Moor because i adore them!