Betta + cories + danios?

Sandpiper

Small Fish
Mar 3, 2004
Princeton, NJ
Visit site
OK, I learn more each day, so hopefully I'll drive you all less crazy soon with fewer questions. :D

Anyway, in another forum, I noticed that a poster has a betta and 7 zebra danios in her 5-gallon tank. This is interesting. In my 6-gallon, my betta will be my top level fish, obviously. I was thinking of getting a couple of aeneus cories as my bottom-level fish, and I know they're compatible with bettas based on research and people's experiences here.

Now I'll come to the point of this post -- it'd be nice to have a couple of mid-level fish, but I'm thinking I probably don't have enough room. What do you all think? Plus, based on my research so far (remember, I'm a beginner), it seems mid-level fish swimmers tend to be schooling fish. So, obviously I couldn't have a betta, 2 cories and 4-5 danios. That would definitely be too much in a 6-gallon. Any ideas?

Actually, when I think about it, once there's gravel in the bottom, there wouldn't really be much of a mid-level. So, I guess I answered my own question. But I still think I'll post in case any of you have comments.

Thanks very much!

Last edited:

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Danios tend to be vicious fin nippers, and fin nippers are definate no-no's with bettas. Danios are also top-level fish, not mid-level, so all their activity and psyco speed swimming will probably bother a betta and shy them out of the lime-light into a corner.

Some people have had it work for them, some people have not. Knowing what I know of danios, I personally wouldn't risk the combination.

If you are looking for a colorful, mid-water type fish, try white cloud mountain minnows. They may not look like much when viewed in the store but they do color up nicely when well cared for.