Betta Euthanasia

izabeau

Medium Fish
Mar 24, 2003
Toronto
Visit site
Hey...anyone know the best was to euthanize a fish?? Without freezing them or crushing/cutting their heads off?? I heard something about water and baking soda?? My blue betta is really ill, and despite all medications, is not getting better, I've been treating him for almost 3 months...I don't want him to suffer any more than necessary...so if and when the time comes I would like to put him down peacefully & without pain if possible??? Any suggestions would be appriciated. :(

Quagaar

Medium Fish
Oct 17, 2003
Scotland
www.aquatic-hobbyist.com
Heres a link to Using Clove oil http://www.aquatic-hobbyist.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14
Clove oil is used by vets to perform surgery on fish, it knocks them out, if overdosed the fish simply goes to sleep and doesnt wake up, very peaceful and a lot more efficient in my Vets opinion than trauma, decapitaion and most definaltly the freezer:(
Euthanasia is a sad fact of fishkeeping, one that almost all fishkeepers will encounter at some stage.
Hope it helps.

Iggy

Superstar Fish
Jun 25, 2003
Leduc, AB, Canada
Visit site
Sorry to hear that Iz.. I had the same issue with my last sick goldfish (Nana). I let the disease run its course, but next time it happens, I will do the humaine thing and help them expire quickly.

Clove oil is a good idea.

izabeau

Medium Fish
Mar 24, 2003
Toronto
Visit site