Betta in 10 gallon with...

Sep 4, 2003
T-Dot, Canada
Visit site
Let me start by saying i'm a newbie, so take this advice as that..
I would think it'll be okay as i had my betta in a 5 gal with 1 cory (untill i setup my 10)
There was no hostility by my betta to the cory.. The betta would sometimes check out what the cory was pickin at in the sand, quite funny actually... However, it was only for like a month, and it could be my betta was young and therefore not as hostile..
Maybe someone more experienced has contrary info.. i dunno..
but my initial reaction is .. it should be okay

Iggy

Superstar Fish
Jun 25, 2003
Leduc, AB, Canada
Visit site
I think a young male betta will be fine. That is a full tank in terms of bio-load IMO. Note, I said a young male, older males tend to get a little more aggressive for space, so just watch for any change in behaviours and have a backup plan (or tank) just in case.

kool_sk8a

Large Fish
Oct 20, 2003
London
sounds like a decent setup to me. the caves should give the corys places to hide if the betta does get nasty. but any signs of hostility, seperate them into seperate tanks imediatly.

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Sounds like a good set up, if a bit, well, boring. Ten gallons is an awful lot of space, and your cories won't use it all. The betta would be a nice centerpiece, but with slow movements and a tendency to want to just chill, not a whole lot of action.

Have one betta and three cories in a five gallon tank. That would be a nice set up with a lot less wasted space.

Or trade some of the cories out of the ten and get yourself some white cloud mountain minnows. I have kept white clouds with bettas before without any difficulties. A school of five or six white clouds, a betta, and three cories shouldn't stress out a ten gallon too much at all provided you are doing regular, -weekly-, 4 gallon water changes and not over feeding.