betta male...not in good shape...

cybersymes

Large Fish
Nov 3, 2005
'serendipity' tank
high there...
i have a beaten up betta male...
and he's in bad shape...
[full story on the f/water newbie board]...

i think he has internal injuries...as the visible signs are few...
he has lost a scale...
and now there is a 'puff' of white 'cotton wool' on that spot...
his fins are tattered...and his belly has turned silver...

i'm concerned that he can't swim properly...
he 'corkscrews'...
and he has trouble getting to the surface...

most of the time...he's on his side...on the bottom...
so i have him in a bag...at the waterline...

what do you think...time to call it a day... ???
i think he may be suffering too much...

i'm a total newbie...so any help here much appreciated...
[got lots of support on other sections of the tank]...
thanks guys... :(

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL
Really the decision is up to you. Very hard for any member to know just how bad off he is. From the story about it it sounds pretty bad. But again it's totally going to have to be your decision to make.

If I had a fish that was obviously not showing signs of getting better, and I could tell he was in great distress. Then yes I would do the deed. Clove oil if you have it is the best method, second (if you can stomach it) would be to cut his head of with a sharp knife. Sorry if it has come to this my man.

cybersymes

Large Fish
Nov 3, 2005
'serendipity' tank
Pure said:
Really the decision is up to you. Very hard for any member to know just how bad off he is. From the story about it it sounds pretty bad. But again it's totally going to have to be your decision to make.

If I had a fish that was obviously not showing signs of getting better, and I could tell he was in great distress. Then yes I would do the deed. Clove oil if you have it is the best method, second (if you can stomach it) would be to cut his head of with a sharp knife. Sorry if it has come to this my man.
cheers p...