Betta Tank Question?

Hello, I'm new to owning fish, but, a few months ago I bought a male crowntail betta. He is now in a tank in my dorm room, but I was hoping to get a bigger tank for my home, but I was curious as to what fish would go well with a betta?

The tank my beta is in right now is a TopFin 2 gallon tank, with an air filter. I would be hoping to get a 10 gallon for home. So, my question is what kind of fish go well, how many should I get to keep them happy, and what other info should I know about the species?

I'm considering neon tetras and zebrafish with my betta. Good idea?

aakaakaak

Superstar Fish
Sep 9, 2010
Chesapeake, Virginia
From bettafish.com:

-What fish can I keep my betta with?
Any fish that is tropical, is not nippy, and does not have long fins. Bettas are very slow fish and should not be housed with fish like Male Guppies, Tiger Barbs, Angelfish, Goldfish, and most Minnows. You can also keep ADF’s, some shrimp, or snails all depending on the personality of your betta. Bettas do best with peaceful bottom dwellers and/or inverts.

achase

Large Fish
Feb 1, 2010
British Columbia, Canada
I wouldn't suggest neon tetras or zebra fish (danios?) for a betta.
I agree with the statement above that bettas do best and should be kept with ADF (aquatic dwarf frogs), shrimp, otos (possibly) or snails. They have tendency to get aggressive or stressed with other fish.

Onyx!

Small Fish
Nov 14, 2010
Hmm... now granted I am not an expert but every time I've had a community tank set up I've included a betta. The only time I've ever had a problem, personally was with male guppies and bettas - the guppies were nipping my betta's tail really badly so I had to remove him.