Betta to a bigger tank, need info please!

Mar 27, 2007
Hey guys
I am very new to the aquarium world, and i need some information! i have a siamese fighting fish[ which i have dubbed Crabs] and i think its crule to keep him in those lil tanks you get for them. So i am thinkyinh of upgrading to a bigger tank for his sake and my sanity! Now what i was wondering, cause its a bigger tank, can i put other fish in with him? i was thinking of 2 albino corydaras[cause thay are bottom eatersd and shouldnt bother him] and a plecostomus. Is this ok? What other fish would be better? Any info would be great
Tnak you very much
Sheblom

Seleya

Superstar Fish
Nov 22, 2004
Cape Cod, MA
Visit site
A lot of you stocking choices would be dependent on how large a tank you get. Bettas can do fine in larger tanks. Sometimes, it takes them a little while to get their "sealegs" once liberated from the little cups as they build up muscle with all the new exercise. Cories are great tankmates for bettas but like to move in larger groups, if possible -- 4, 5, 10, 30.... ;) Most plecos need quite a bit of room, so it would depend on what species you liked and how large a tank we're discussing here. The only typically poor tankmates for bettas are other labyrinth fish and fish which somewhat resemble bettas (i.e., male guppies) -- that's not to say it can't be done, just that most attempts don't particularly work out. :eek:

FishGeek

Elite Fish
May 13, 2005
South Carolina
Are you looking at getting like a 10G?? I say that if you went with a smaller pleco (not the Common) that you would be fine. Look into Rubbernose plecos. They are cute and stay pretty small. And I think that 3 Cories would be a great number. :D

Mar 27, 2007
i am thinking of getting a 50l tank with a trickle filter! and maybe 3 to 4 cories! and information advice would be appreciated! i am very new to this!!

jessey

Large Fish
Dec 25, 2006
Tampa, FL