Big Gourami problems

JohnnyC

Small Fish
Feb 19, 2006
New York
OK so I have a huge problem. I call it huge cause I have no clue of whats goibng on or what to do about it but maybe you guys can shed some light on the situation. Well I am a total newbie when it comes to fish and my girlfriend got me a tank for Valentines day its a very nice looking ten gallon but htats beside the point when we went to get fish at a local store called pet world I picked out a few different fish all community type but when I told theperson there that I was starting a new tank he said that the water had to be cycled first. Ok hood idea right, sure, if he had left it at that instead he said I would need hardy fish that could survive the cycle process so he sold me three powder blue gouramis. Only later did I learn or their temperment and that just having on maybe two in a tank together is all you shold have. Well I got 3 and they were good in the beginning now they are big and just case eachother around alot. They bang into the sides of the tank but the arent dented or buised and the two girls just hide from the boy since he does most of the chasing.