bio spira problems...

Mar 3, 2006
columbus, Tx
Ok, I've never used bio spira before, but I finaly found a store who had it. When I bought it, I took it home and used it immediately (last night around 10 pm) This morning, I ran a test, and ammonia levels are around the same since yesterday, and nitrite and nitrate levels are 0. Does the biospira produce results that quickly, or do I need to wait another day? The package said "overnight" The package also did not say to refrigerate... do you think maybe the store didnt refrigerate it, and thats what the problem is? The guy got it for me from behind a counter, so i dont know if it was refrigerated or not...

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Bio-Spira doesn't work too well if you already have a half-done cycle (measurable ammonia and nitrites). It probably will work to some extent, but won't be as "instant" as if you had done a large water change before adding it or added it before you added fish.

Oct 31, 2004
Chicago
Visit site
Bio-Spira is made for a "new" tank. It won't really change anything on a tank that's already in the cycle process. I believe it has helped a few people in your situation, but not the majority.

Also, it must be refridgerated or all of the bacteria will die. If it was warm when you bought it, the bacteria are dead. I would take it back to the store and get my money back.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Biospira will still help a tank thats cycling...just that it wont be as 'magical' because its designed to be used initially when setting a tank up.

I agree that if it wasn't refrigerated at the store then it probably wont do any good whatsoever. The store should be informed of that and maybe suggest that they get with the manufacturer on that.

Mar 3, 2006
columbus, Tx