Black Algae problem?

PerenGee

Large Fish
Sep 20, 2008
San Diego
First off, hello everyone! My name is Peren and I'm quite new to both this forum and freshwater tanks.

I put together my first tank today but after taking a closer look at it I noticed that there were some small tufts of furry, black patches growing on the tip of some driftwood. I wasn't sure what it was but after some concerned searching online I'm afraid that it might be black algae. Out of fear I took the wood out of the tank and it is now in a bucket of water with a little bit of peroxide. I wanted to know if this sounds like a black algae problem. I'm really not sure at all, especially because all that's in there right now are some amazon broad swords and L. novaezelandiae.

PerenGee

Large Fish
Sep 20, 2008
San Diego
Hi and thanks!

The wood came from a local pet store in their freshwater section of the store. I believe the piece of paper on the wall said it was African drift wood. And no, it was not in water. I found it in a rather large pile of other pieces of drift wood on a big shelf. any thoughts?

brian1973

Superstar Fish
Jan 20, 2008
Corpus Christi, Texas
did you soak it for a few days before adding it to your tank...typically it should be boiled and soaked until all the tannins are out of it.which usually means soaking and changing the water its soaking in until the water doesnt change to a orangish color. i havent boiled mine but i usually soak it in very hot water until the water is clear.

My driftwood does have some dark areas that may look fuzzy under water but its just part of the wood.

PerenGee

Large Fish
Sep 20, 2008
San Diego
I soaked it for a little bit but certainly not for days. It appears that I did not prepare it correctly before placing it in. I'll give it a good couple boils tomorrow and see if that helps at all. Thanks for the heads up, Brian!

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net