Bloat :(

phin

Large Fish
Oct 21, 2009
I came hoe yesterday and noticed one of my juvenile females at the top corner of the tank. She was quite rounder than the other fish and had a clear white poo half way out.

Later I noticed one of the juvenile males not coming out during feeding time. When he did come out he also had a white clear poo hanging out.

None of the other saulosis exhibited any signs at all.

I did a 50% water change, added 1tbs epsom salt/10 gal (total 6 Tbs of epsom salt) and dosed the tank with metro. I turned the lights off and plan on keeping them off for 3 days. I plan on re-dosing the metro on thursday night (48 hours).

This morning I was able to count 7 fish swimming apparently happily, but no sign of the sick female. :(

------------------------------

i'm pretty sure the whole situation is my fault. I'm new to cichlids and that played a part. I received the fish last wednesday, so i had them for most of a week before any showd signs of illness, so I'm pretty sure its not a bacterial issue that arrived with the fish.

I added aquarium salt to the tank, thinking that it would be beneficial. That was mistake #1. Apparently the salt contributes to bloat. Now I know. I also think I over fed them, which, with pseudotropheus' long intestines is not a good thing. I thought since they were juveniles, that in order to get them to grow nice and quick I would just pump food in. I was feeding them enough to eat in 2 minutes, but 4 times a day. I know that with my kribenesis and other fish I've had they eat tons when they are small and grow fast.

Hopefully all the fish recover, or at least don't lose anymore than the 1 female that may already have died. Have to feed less and keep the salt out.

phin

Large Fish
Oct 21, 2009