Brown algae appearing during cycle?

Dragonet

Medium Fish
Mar 19, 2009
Kingston ON.
Im new to keeping a saltwater aquarium and am about a week and a half into the cycle of a 29 gallon. I have a small live rock and 3 damselfish in the tank. About a day ago i noticed brown algae appearingon the floor of the tank and when i checked it today there was some on the wall of the tank.

Because I'm new to this i was wondering if this is good during the cycle or if it is a problem that should be taken care of ?

Liam White

Mar 10, 2009
I've had a brown algae bloom during cycle. It is very common for saltwater. Now is when you need to get your cleaning crew going. It will take another week for that to cycle through.

Also, check to ensure you are using RO/DI water. The phosphates in normal tap water feed the brown cyanobacteria that you are seeing.

YandaPanda

jo3olous

Large Fish
Aug 6, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
Im new to keeping a saltwater aquarium and am about a week and a half into the cycle of a 29 gallon. I have a small live rock and 3 damselfish in the tank. About a day ago i noticed brown algae appearingon the floor of the tank and when i checked it today there was some on the wall of the tank.

Because I'm new to this i was wondering if this is good during the cycle or if it is a problem that should be taken care of ?

Liam White
Why are you cycling with fish? It's much better to cycle WITHOUT.

Your tank should have gone in the order of: cycling with live rock, clean up crew, then fish. It can sometimes take 2 months to properly cycle and get a tank going.

I highly suggest returning the fish, and starting over the right way.

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana