Bubbles and heaters

Mar 2, 2011
The Bronx, NY
Hi, I'm Matt, I'm new here. I'm not actually a newbie anymore, I've been fishkeeping for 7 years now, but I've got a newbie question.

Is it safe to have an airline or bubbler bubbling over a heater? I'm 99% sure it should be okay. I don't see how a quickly moving bubble can cause enough temperature change to crack a heater, and I even think it would help with dispersing the heat more evenly.

But I have a niggling fear that somehow this can lead to catastrophe. Does anyone do this? Has anyone had a heater crack or explode from doing this? Any advice welcome.

ryanoh

Large Fish
Mar 22, 2010
Hmm. I'd never thought of that. I guess it depends on how frequently the bubbles are passing over the heater? My bubbles used to go right over my heater and nothing bad ever happened.

skjl47

Large Fish
Nov 13, 2010
Northeastern Tennessee.