Bubbles: Wand, Disk, or Stone??

Kiara1125

Superstar Fish
Jan 12, 2011
Florida
I want to add some more oxygen into my Goldfish tank, but I don't know whether to get a Bubble Wand, Disk, or Stone. I really don't like the wands, so I was thinking about the disk and stone. Now the stone that I'm talking about is that Aqua Fizz thing that looks flat and blue with plastic aroung the edges. I like the looks of a disk, but I really want it to cover more surface area, so it can be more evenly distributed. What should I choose?? This is my first time with adding air in the tanks, so I want advice from people who have had experience with these things and which ones they think is the best. Thanks!!

skjl47

Large Fish
Nov 13, 2010
Northeastern Tennessee.
Hello; Go with what you like, they all will produce bubbles. I have the flat blue one you describe. It has been in operation for nearly two years without a problem. I suspect that the large surface area helps to keep them from failing. As dust in the air is concentrated thru the air pump it seeems to clog the internal spaces but the large stones have lots of passages, so the air finds another way. Mine no longer produces the tiny bubbles but does produce a lot of the larger ones.
The small stones produce fine bubbles and work fine for a while, but the ones I used in the past eventually get clogged up internally or erode to the point of relsasing large bubbles. If you can find them cheap enough, the small stones can be replaced when they no longer make the small bubbles. Wichever stones you use they will create a fine mist at the water surface and this mist can cause problems with lights and create drips.
There are small air filters available that you can splice in the air tubeing that are meant to trap the dust before it reaches the stones. I have some new ones in their packing cartons, but have not tried them yet so cannot report on how well they work.