can I have any hard corals?

waterguy1

Large Fish
Aug 2, 2009
Okay, I'm a bit new to coral keeping, and although I am doing very nicely with two tanks full of hardy softies (zooanthids, mushrooms, giant polyps, etc.) I keep Hearing about hard corals, stony corals, etc., and I'm interested. I am setting up a new 20 gal. sw aquarium with a good power filter, an air-driven undergravel filter, a protein skimmer, and LR. I an going to have a 96 watt flourecsent fixture, giving the yank app. 5 watts per gallon. Would I be able to keep any hard corals in there? Could I keep softies with them? what kinds of foods/supplements do they need? Is my filtration adequate? help!

Feb 25, 2008
Savage, MN
Are you talking compact flourescent? If so, CF lighting is not really bright enough to support much more than soft corals. If you want to grow SPS and LPS type corals, you will need at least T5 type lighting.

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
"HO" means high output... you dont want a undergravel filter or even a power filter in sw! general rule of thumb for sps is lots of flow and not alot of nitrates/phosphates.... as far as lighting it really depends on what you have there try and get more info on the light to answer your question

Last edited:

waterguy1

Large Fish
Aug 2, 2009
I've learned all I can from the site that I'm buying it from. It didn't have lots of info other than it has 2 fans, blue moon leds, and 4 24 watt bulbs. I`m planning on one or two powerheads to go in for extra water movement . And why no ugf? I thought that It might help to reduce nitrates.

Feb 25, 2008
Savage, MN
The filtration in your tank is going to be taken care of with live rock and your protein skimmer. You don't really want to put any mechanical filtration in your tank. Just put about 20 lbs of aragonite substrate, 20 to 25 lbs of live rock, a good powerhead like a Koralia #2 and your protein skimmer. That is all you need. 96 watts of light is pretty low for stony corals.

TRe