Canister filter on its side ?

petee

New Fish
Mar 22, 2005
Hi all, just discovered this site, in the process of starting my first SW tank.

Under my tank area I have shelves which prohibit the upright use of an Eheim 2217. It would fit lying on its side, but I suspect that that would introduce all sorts of problems, not least of which could be leakage.

Any thoughts?

Cheers in advance
Pete

Feb 28, 2005
Waterford, CA
LOL, yes I have to agree on that one. I’m not an expert on canister filters but it sounds like a bad idea. I hope you find room for it, maybe buy some longer hoses and just place it on the side of your tank. Good luck with it..

Oh Camaro, ok I think I have talked about this one before but, Y are you so anti canister? If you don’t have a skimmer, is a canister ok? Because where’s all the gunk and little parts of algae and stuff going to go? You said something about the live rock being enough or something about a bio load???? Umm can you explain to me a little more. Ok appreciate it thanx.
*PEACE!*

jammerz

Large Fish
Feb 28, 2005
Boise
yeah i have a canister and a skimmer and the skimmer is always loaded. Canister is on its way out in comes sump/refugium....gotta get those nitrates down!!

Im not any expert by any means but go get a skimmer man you'll not regret it!!

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
jammerz said:
Im not any expert by any means but go get a skimmer man you'll not regret it!!
what he said pretty much sums it up. I have found that havving the least amount of filters/equipment/etc is the easiest way to maintain a healthy marine tank. all i do is run a heater a skimmer and a return pump for water flow and I have had zero problems with algae or bad chemical buildup