Can't keep my water clear

d_cohoon

Small Fish
Mar 6, 2006
Ashkum, IL
I scrubbed my tank and went and bought bottled water but three days later my tank is starting to look terrible. I have 6 Goldfish, 2 Blue Gouramis, 1 female betta and 2 algae eaters. What should I try next? I have even thought about getting different fish for the tank. Because after I got the fish, a few people told me I made a bad choice on getting goldfish. I am new at having a fish tank. But I would love to have clean and beautiful tank for my family to enjoy.

Last edited:

d_cohoon

Small Fish
Mar 6, 2006
Ashkum, IL
It's a 40 gallon tank. I first set it up 6 weeks ago and every week I have been bringing a water sample to the pet shop and they say the water is perfect that they don't understand what is wrong.

Seleya

Superstar Fish
Nov 22, 2004
Cape Cod, MA
Visit site
Your tank is seriously overstocked and you'll probably continue to have problems until you remedy this. I can't imagine how the pet shop can say everything is fine, your parameters should be all over the place with the bioload. I would strongly suggest you get some tests kits to use yourself. Peek over the salesguy's shoulder the next time he tests your water -- have him explain the readings and let us know what they are. Ammonia and nitrites should only be 0, nothing else is 'fine'.