Central American Cichlids?

sweetpickles7

Superstar Fish
Feb 13, 2007
Central Illinois
Im soon hoping to get a 55 gallon tank and im wanting to make it a cichlid tank.I was wanting to put sand as the substrate and i didnt know if this would work?This is what i would like to get: 3 black convicts,2 firemouth meeki,1 jack dempsey[i know they are very aggressive,but my lfs said that it would probably work:confused: what do you think],and 2 salvinis.Sorry for all the questions but hey im a beginner.

sclabman

Large Fish
Jan 21, 2007
L.A.
i'm no expert on CA/SA cichlids... but i think it should work. What ive read though is that salvini are somewhat passive fish (i'm sure BV will chime in here) so beware of aggression towards them. The 3 cons will probably form a pair and have an odd man out which may stress the odd one, and wreak terror on the rest of the tank, but then again you have other aggressive fish in there...

Big Vine

Elite Fish
Feb 7, 2006
Florida
Salvini may be a little more reclusive than some of those others you've mentioned, but they are by no means "somewhat passive" fish. Quite the opposite, in fact. ;)

But I'm having a huge debacle with mine at the moment, so don't assume that I have the answers either. :eek:

Now that my spawning pair is divorced, and the fry have all been eaten, I'm seriously considering doing a similar setup to what you're describing, sweetpickles. More of a mixed CA community of sorts.

Point being, I'd be very interested in figuring out what has a decent chance of working in a 55 gal. tank as far as this type of aggressive community goes. I've been working on figuring this out over at the cichlid-forum as well, and so I can give you a bit of advice right now...

First off, the JD is too big for a 55 gal. tank.
I'd go so far as saying that it'd be too much even alone, but perhaps that is up for debate. With other CA cichlids in a 55 gal. tank---not a chance, IMO.