Chemicals, Do I really need to buy them?

May 17, 2006
Hello, this is my first post on the forum. I am fairly new to the Fish Tank World. When I go to the pet stores, they try to sell me all different chemical procucts, like Plant zyme for my live plants, and Cycle for the fish, and stress zyme , and 2 others, I guess they are for the ph balances and other acceptable levels for the fish. Are these expensive chemicals really necessary. I have heard that they generally are not, and that you can even substitute many of these wiht household items? Does anyone have anyexpierence with this. Any advice would be much appreciated...Thanks
Chris

hcover

Medium Fish
Apr 22, 2006
Missouri
Hey, look, you're the newest member. I missed mine when I first joined. By the time I found my way to the bottom of the main page, someone else new had joined.

As far as chemicals, the experts will answer shortly, but it's a no on most of them. What you must have is de-chlorinator, and test kits, not the dip strip kind, but the water sample with drops kind. You should definately test for amonia, nitrites, and nitrates - different tests.

There are other things, like cycle, that you may or may not want and I'll leave that to the experts.

hcover

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL
I see someone has been doing their home work. Good job hcover.

Everything that hcover said is right. Cycle is a waist of money, I've tried it and so has a lot of people and none of us can tell that it ever did anything to help. The PH adjusters are garbage too. Most tropical fish (trops) will adapt to just about any PH within reason. This would be 6.0 to 8.o maybe even a little higher. A stable non fluctuating PH is far more important that one that is "right for the species" but fluctuates with every water change because you have to add chemicals to get it where you want it.