cleaning

Jul 12, 2005
I just bought a 90 gallon tank. It is used and has all the equipment with it. How do I go about sanitizing everything and filling it up? Thanks!

Jul 12, 2005
I am sorry. My wife is trying to be helpful, posting for me. Let me offer a little more information. I've been keeping a 30G FW successfully for the last 2 or 3 years, always with the dream of upgrading to SW. I have recently been fortunate purchased a 2nd hand 90G tank with stand and canopy, lights, Emporer 400, protein skimmer, Fluval 404, and 100 lbs of coral (for $400). The tank hadn't been used for approx 6 months prior to my purchase and as such needs a clean. My wifes simplified question remains. How do I go about sterilizing everything. Razor blade scraping and water will clean the tank, but should I boil the coral? How about the rest of the equipment? Obviously I don't want to use any kind of detergents, and don't want to melt or damage anything with boiling.

Also, can I used water from my FW tank to start the cycle, or would this create a different kind of bacteria?

Am considering (well, hoping) to use my 30G as a sump. I've scoured the various sites but cannot find a simple explaination as to how set it up. Any help on this matter also would be appreciated.

Kind thanks to all.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
$400 for that tank and equipment sounds like a good deal :) Since the tank hasn't been used... the 'corals' are all dead right? You might want to think about how much room they take up and whether you even want to use them in your tank or not before attempting to sanitize or clean them?