Clownfish - alone or in pairs?

Jul 12, 2005
I was just told by the goon at the LFS that the common percular clown should be kept alone or with 3 or more. Two together will fight he says. I says they SHOULD be kept in pairs and may not do so well alone. Am I right in my convictions?

Yazoo1970

Medium Fish
Apr 29, 2005
I am not an expert but i believe 2 will fight i have always heard it is better to get them in odd numbers 1 3 5 i am not sure why and to be honest it's just something i have heard in here and at my LFS i know it is like that with tangs which i have more experience with

Jan 16, 2004
Syracuse, NY
Well he may not be a goon if he says that. He is right to some peoples expirience, and wrong to others. People keep them in pairs, but they usually arent the only fish in the tank, and if they are they are introduced simultaniously. If there is enough room to set up territories there will be less of a problem I think. Though I dont care for clowns, they should be fine alone. I dont see why not. The science behind getting more is so that they alternate which one gets picked on, so its not always the same fish.

Last edited:
Jul 12, 2005
I ended up swiftly returning the Percula Clown to the lfs and came home with a much larger, beautifully coloured Maroon Clown!! :p Such a wise decision. *crazysmil I'm sure he's not a usual tank cycling fish, but the tank is so large that I'm sure he'll do fine. 5 Green Chromis coming Friday.

79 Temp
8.1 pH
1.024 Spec Grav

wayne

Elite Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Single or pairs. Your lfs guy is a goon.

I would also warn you saltwater aquariums for dummies is generally regarded as being pretty rubbish.