Completely frustrated!

May 29, 2010
Ok, so I'm totally new to this whole thing. My boyfriend and I are so frustrated with our tank right now. He is not as new to this as I am, but we just can't keep our fish healthy.

We have a 25 gallon high tank. There was a large-ish piece of driftwood in it until a few hours ago. On the driftwood we had one anubius that was doing amazingly well and 2 java ferns that were doing ok. No special lights or CO2 for them. We took that out because our pH plummeted from slightly basic to very acidic. We have had goldfish in the past and had constant swim bladder and possibly fin-rot issues. The all died and we emptied the tank to start fresh. We were going to plant (hence the driftwood and plants) and decided that was too much work without CO2 and too much $ with it. (So, as a side note, we do have some lighting equipment that is brand new in the box. Never opened.)

When the tank cycled, we bought 5 or 6 rasboras and all but 1 of them died within a week and a half. After a while (we wanted the tank to cycle again) we bought 10 green tetras. All but 2 died within days. The we bought 4 more rasboras to do "an experiment with". We changed the way we introduce them to the tank per some forum suggestions. It seemed to be working. We also added a bunch of silk plants to the tank b/c we know they love to hide in that. Well, this morning, it looks like all of the fish have cotton mouth and won't eat. A green tetra has already died and the rest look TERRIBLE. What do we do?? The water if fine, as far as we can test. The ammonia is 0. The nitrates and nitrites are at perfect levels. The hardness is low and the pH is at 6. That is lower than we wanted it so we had to get rid of the driftwood. (I don't know all of the exact numbers b/c he tests the water and is much better at being involved than I am.)