Comprehensive Cycle/Test Results and Care Help

ccondardo

Small Fish
Feb 21, 2009
I always read posts that have to do with test kits, cycling, and water changes. The reason for that is because I can't really get a grasp on what I'm supposed to do when.

Now that I received my API Freshwater Master Test kit from Petco.com for $22 on sale, I'm ready to be a mad scientist.

I have 2 tanks. Below is a breif history of both.

14g Tank: 3 Danios, 1 Silvertipped shark, 2 Serpae Teteas (note: i know that its not the right size i shoudlnt have the shark or danios ect, please limit this post to Cycle/Test help)

I have been running it since Feb 2. I do weekly water changes and started the tank with a fish cycle (I was a noob and didn't know better).

In the process I lost 1 shark and 1 serpae tetra.

I ran the tests from the API test kit exactly as described in the directions using the exact timings and everything they provide. Below are the results for 14g tank.

Ammonia- 0
Nitrate- 10
Nitrite- 1

My other tank is a bit of a bad one. I really messed this one up. 10g tank, housing 2 silver danios, 6 comet feeder fish (kind of experimenting with breaking the tank in with cheap fish who are going to die anyways, I figured this is a better life for them). It has been running for 2 weeks now. I have had 8 deaths in the tank in that time, cementing the idea that I will never do a fish cycle again. I guess some people need to learn the hard way.

pH- between 7.4 and 7.8, closer to 7.4
Ammonia- between 1 and 2... closer to 2
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- between 5 and 10, closer to 5, I would say about 6.

What I'm really looking for is someone to fill in the blanks below to help every noobie with their test results and what steps to carry out afterward.