Confused....

Apr 7, 2005
NE Ohio
Ok everyone...I'm new to salt water tanks. I just recently purchased a 55 gallon, and getting ready to start buying equipment for it. But there is way too much information out there, and way too many things to look at, that I decided to turn here for advice.

Filtration:My Main Concern
I have read so many things of what to use, what not to use, and how to use it. I'm beginning to wonder if it's all necessary. I was thinking of running a Rena Filstar XP3 rated at 350gph. I've heard good things, and the price isn't too bad. Now, I'm reading all kinds of things that I should have a Protein Skimmer with a Powerhead in the tank also. Do I have to have both?? I mean.. Just like anyone else, I want to have my tank look great all the time, and maximize my viewing time vs. my cleaning time. It would seem a little over kill to me to run a canister unit, and a protein skimmer???

With the filtration unit, if that's the way I go, is it still necessary to run a powerful air unit, ( other then powering an air driven protein skimmer?? )...Do I still need some air stones in the tank or would it be more decoration only?

For heating I have two 150w heaters to run on both ends of the tank, and reduce the workload of just one heater. From what I've read, it seems to be the most sensible...Good thing or bad??

sorry if some of this is old material, but I just can't seem to find any thing consistent with what I need....Maybe I won't, and I'll just have to work with it, and see how it goes... But I guess that's why I'm here....Thanks in advance

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site