Corydoras Problem?? Please help

ThePrep95

Small Fish
Apr 9, 2006
I am a newbie and have a 29 gallon with 3 albino corydoras and 1 green/bronze corydora.

When I first got them, they were so lively and were swimming 24/7. Now, it seems all they do is sleep. The biggest one is the most active, but overall about a 90% drop in activity over the span of a month. For the most part they just sit still at the bottom of the tank, come up for a gulp of air, and go back to sleep or laying on the bottom.

I have cleaned the tank 2-3 times a week, and I even went as far as to get an ammonia test kit, and there is 0 ammonia. I can only think of 2 things:

1. When I clean out the tank, I do about a 30% water change, and I add the water directly then add amquel plus after I have added the water. Should I do this some other way, and if so, how would I mix the new water and the amquel prior to adding the water to the fish tank?? And could this be the problem?

2. I got the bronze corydora about 2 weeks after I got the 3 albinos. Perhaps he brought something foul into the tank? I wouldn't think so though, because he is the 2nd or 3rd most active still (one does NOTHING but eat and sleep)

Any tips and advice would be welcome

FishGeek

Elite Fish
May 13, 2005
South Carolina
ThePrep95 said:
.....1. When I clean out the tank, I do about a 30% water change, and I add the water directly then add amquel plus after I have added the water. Should I do this some other way, and if so, how would I mix the new water and the amquel prior to adding the water to the fish tank?? And could this be the problem?.....
:eek: :eek: :eek: I definately dont think thats the best way to add water to your tank!!!! The reason for the conditioner is to get all of the harmful stuff out of your water before putting it in your tank. I think there is a possibility thats your problem!!!

ThePrep95

Small Fish
Apr 9, 2006