CPR Aquatic BAK PAK 2R

Jul 12, 2004
Boston
Visit site
I just bought the BAK PAK 2R protein skimmer and wanted to be sure that the powerhead and the AC line cord go into the tank !! Does anyone have one ??...thanks

Last edited:

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
what did the instruction manual say?

i have no experience with this skimmer, but it seems to be a HOT skimmer...either way, the powerhead has to be under water and thus the cord as well...powerheads are designed to be underwater...if there is an air intake somewhere it needs to be out of the water

S.Reef

Superstar Fish
Dec 1, 2003
Michigan
I have seen this model, and believe the powerhead goes in the tank. I know for sure it is a HOT skimmer, the term backback for hang on.

Sam Reef

Joe Fish

Superstar Fish
Apr 21, 2006
Penn State
josy.isa-geek.com
Is it recommended or to leave it empty? Granted I have only tested my nitrate with test strips, that's all I have at the moment, but it's showing 40ppm. Everything else is in check when I tested with my tetra test kit. If I take that bio media out should my nitrate level drop? I don't have a high fish load, only 3, and I don't feed heavily.

Jul 29, 2005
Sunny Cali & Rainy England
snelly50 said:
I just bought the BAK PAK 2R protein skimmer and wanted to be sure that the powerhead and the AC line cord go into the tank !! Does anyone have one ??...thanks
I was a little confused when I first set mine up, also without instructions. If yours came with the standard Rio 600 pump/powerhead, you want to connect a short airline tube to one of the little elbow outlets and run it to the little inlet on the uplift tube. Then you want to connect another airline tube to the other little elbow outlet and have the other end of this tube out of the water so it is pulling in air. Attach the whole thing onto the only tube on your skimmer that it will fit onto, slot it over the side of your tank, and bob's your mothers brother, a functioning HOB skimmer.