Cycling problem

Mar 9, 2011
Dallas Oregon
I have been cycling my tank now for 4 months. I am having the hardest time getting my amonia level down to zero. I have a 55 gal and 15 small fish. My water was cloudy for a week then went clear and it has been beautiful since. My fish are doing fine, they are eating and swimming well. I do 20% water changes every other day and once a week I do a 50% water change. Each time I do a big change the amonia levels goes down some but it stays there until a do another big change again. I am frustrated regarding this. My pH is at 7.8, I have hard water from a well and I have heard that that it is hard for the good bacteria that eats amonia to survive in a higher pH level. Is this my problem? I have also heard that it is best not to mess with pH levels. Are they connected? The last time I set up a tank it only took about 5 weeks to cycle what is going wrong this time?

nanu156

Large Fish
Mar 8, 2010
Detroit, Mi
7.8 is just fine on PH, my tanks cycle quite quickly and i am in that range

umm well first what kind of test kit do you have? the strips are inaccurate as all get out, so if you don't have them you need the API master test kit.

15 fish are not your problem in a 55g as that's a pretty low stocking order.

something may be dead in there, or you may have a ton of rotting food, your test kit could be bad, ummm I don't know.

What are your readings for the tank?
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
PH
Hardness

what are the 15 fish? got any plants? can you send photos of the tank and anything in there that you don't know the name of (fish or plants)?

Mar 9, 2011
Dallas Oregon
more information

In answer I do have a API test kit that have been using for several years now.
Today the ammonia reading is 0.50 ppm. My nitrate is zero and I do not have a test kit for hardiness or nitrates, so I am unsure of their levels.