Dead Fish

Apr 14, 2005
North of the 49th Parallel
I've had 2 fish die in less than a week. In my estimation, as a beginner, my tank has never looked healthier. Had cloudy water for several months but that went away & I was told that can be normal. My fish look good & happy. If I had 3 dogs & 2 popped off in a week I'd be worried. Do fish sometimes just die like that? You know what I mean.

ReverendShmoove said:
The tank has been up for 4 months, water changed a week ago.
so does that mean its cycled? and if fish are dying then that means your tank isn't that healthy and you have either too much stress in there or toxins causing your fish to die. Oh and also your like 15in overstocked, what does your nitrates usualy get up to before you do a water change? its probably not a problem yet but it could be later on.

Last edited:

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Yeah...it helps us to know if you've tested the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels and let us know what those are. Sometimes fish will die for no apparant reason, but if you have more than one die for no apparant reason I'd be pretty worried about the conditions of the tank. When was the last time you added a new fish to the tank?

I would agree that the tank seems to be very overstocked...this could lead to buildups of ammonia/nitrite or nitrate depending on how much could be lethal if you dont do very thorough, regular tank maintenance (gravel vac and big water change once a week).

Apr 14, 2005
Balloon Fish said:
so does that mean its cycled? and if fish are dying then that means your tank isn't that healthy and you have either too much stress in there or toxins causing your fish to die. Oh and also your like 15in overstocked, what does your nitrates usualy get up to before you do a water change? its probably not a problem yet but it could be later on.