Dealing with Betta bully

jsparky

Small Fish
Mar 9, 2004
Visit site
(Also posted in Beginner discussion, hope it's OK to bring it here too!)

Newbie here, just got my first tank, these boards have been a great help!

A few days ago I brought home two peppered cories and a male betta for my 10 gallon. I added them with bio-spira and in terms of water quality, things are great.

But -- I've noticed the betta stalking and lunging at the cories. Sometime the cories just swim away and go back to sniffing the gravel, but sometimes they act terriried. They hide in a corner and push at the tank glass like they're trying to escape.

So far, the betta has not harmed the cories. If he does, he'll be out of there quick. However, I'm worried that the cories are getting stressed out and that the betta might attack and seriously injure one.

Any advice? Should I keep observing and hope the betta gets tired of bullying the cories? Or should I move him before a cory gets hurt?

I was also planning on adding three platies (with more bio-spira) soon. Do you think that might help? Maybe the betta will leave the cories alone more?

Thanks!

P.S. The betta doesn't flare at the cories -- maybe he's just curious or wants to play with them, I don't know!

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Interesting. I have seen this happen before with one of my own bettas, and to me it appeared as if he had no clue what to make of the cories, but he never did them any harm. Usually the cories ignored him, and he ignored them. They were in six gallons of water, so there was plenty space for all.

I did at one time have a betta flare at a cory. I stopped it by using a rather, unorthadoxed, negitive reinforcement method. Animal Rights' fanatics might have issues with this, but no harm came to any fish for it.